September 18, 2017

Another day of hiking. No frost last night so the day warmed up more quickly. The temperature isn’t at its peak until about 3:00 in the afternoon and then cools down much slower than I am used to at home. The Ninth Avenue Trail has many signs warning of bears. If I was hiking with someone I wouldn’t have to be faster than the bear, just faster than my hiking partner. I would choose wisely. I know, …

bear sign

So I play the music on my iPhone for noise. I’m pretty sure the bears won’t like my choice in music and will run the other way. And I most certainly don’t play The Teddy Bear’s Picnic.

birch trees

We’ve had no wind or rain to speak of since I arrived so the leaves are clinging. I can hear Jim Gaffigan, the comedian, in my head doing his fall leaves routine and I laugh right out loud thinking of it.

ferry on the river

I am now talking to myself with my Ewen McGregor voice so it could be quite possible that I am losing my mind in my solitary confinement.  Or maybe I lost it many many years ago as some might attest.

This entry was posted in GRATITUDE. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to September 18, 2017

  1. Kate says:

    What a gorgeous place. Photogenic. Hoping you’re only going to get the chance to post very long distance bear photos. No closeups please!

  2. Kate says:

    Wow! The close up wolf sighting is really rare. Close ups of bears less so. Did I mention we went camping in Algonquin recently? As you can imagine, I am up to date on my bear awareness and rules for encounters. Bear spray? check. Running? bad idea. Sleeping in the tent with a knife, axe and more bear spray? check. 🙂

  3. I think it would be hard not to run. Again, I am reminded of Jim Gaffigan’s bit on bears. hee hee

  4. Kate says:

    Had to go watch the Jim Gaffigan camping sketch. Hysterical. Makes me wonder why we keep going camping ’cause I can relate to a lot of that. 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

