Gratitude – Post 4

I am grateful for soup. Not just any soup; Allison’s soup.

You don’t know Allison. Well, I shouldn’t say that. She may very well be a close friend of yours. She is a close friend of mine, one of my favourite people on earth. It would take me several pages to extol the many reasons why Allison is so wonderful and she would blush and might be annoyed so I’ll just say that whenever I am with Allison, life is suddenly better. It’s a funny thing, rare funny, not comical funny. Allison is wise and real and she sings harmony as a reflex to my melody. We laugh spontaneously and repeatedly. She has a calming voice; she should be the voice on all audio books.

Allison is the kind of friend who watches life, scouts out the treasures and then shares what she finds. This soup recipe is one of those treasures. I’ve made it fifty-six times, at least, and it satisfies the very soul as only a fine soup can.

Golden Harvest Soup

1/4 cup butter

1 large onion, chopped

2 leeks (white part only) chopped – if you have no leeks, just use two onions instead of one

1 large white potato peeled and diced

1 cup thinly sliced carrots

2 cups diced butternut squash in 1/2 inch cubes (but no matter how big the squash is, I just use the whole squash rather than just 2 cups, because wasting would be such a shame)

3 cups chicken stock

1 1/2 cups light cream (this is optional and instead I sometimes just drizzle some cream on the top of each bowl and attempt to make some artistic design in the soup but usually failing)

1/4 cup dry white wine (Allison uses more and so do I)

salt and pepper

In a large heavy pot, melt butter and cook onion and leeks until softened but not browned. Stir in potato, carrots and squash. Cook stirring for 2 or 3 minutes. Pour in stock, cover and simmer for about 20 minutes or until vegetables are tender. Puree with stick blender or a Vitamix if you have one until the soup is very smooth. Stir in cream or or extra broth to the consistency that you like. Stir in wine and heat until very hot but do not boil. Season with salt and pepper to taste.  This soup freezes well.  I cut up green onions and sprinkle on top to cover my artistic failure with the cream.

The truth is I’m grateful for this soup, I like it a lot, it is very yummy. But much more than that, I am grateful for Allison.

This entry was posted in GRATITUDE. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gratitude – Post 4

  1. allison147 says:

    I have been too overcome to write back. No one has ever said such kind things about me. I am so glad you like the soup — and me, your friend. But we do have laughs and the opposite together. My sister and mother were thrilled and agreed with everything you said, though my mother would like some of that soup, said I never made it for her ;).

    Anyway, now I am famous, I will try to be humble and keep up with my old friends, even if it is hard to relate to their small lives now.

    xo

Leave a Reply

