Gratitude – Post 3

I am grateful for Kakuro puzzles. Are you familiar with Kakuro? Kakuro is often referred to as a “mathematical transliteration of the crossword”.  I’m sure that definition cleared up your confusion. I think I sense some eye-rolling. I classify Kakuro in with Sudoku and have defined them as being a step up from Sudoku, but Sudoku lovers take offense when I say it like that so I have decided that Kakuro is a lateral move from Sudoku, a step to the left or right, if you will.

I shouldn’t be grateful for Kakuro puzzles. I tell myself they are good for my brain: the thinking, calculating, remembering patterns helps my brain from completely disintegrating. But let’s be honest, we’re friends now, we can tell each other anything: Kakuro is quite simply a delaying tactic.

I’ll go to the gym just as soon as I have finished this one puzzle or maybe two, three tops. I’ll clean the bathroom absolutely right away immediately after I get this puzzle out of the way. I’m sure you know the drill.

But I love Kakuro puzzles. They calm me.  I make promises when I start a new book, such as I will start on puzzle one and not move on until all of puzzle one is complete and I will do them in order. I will use my tidiest penmanship and I’ll only work on one puzzle each day so if I finish the puzzle, that’s it until tomorrow.  Those promises collapse before I reach puzzle three. It’s very disheartening. My willpower is so limited, so untrustworthy, so feeble. But did I mention I love kakuro puzzles.

When I should be writing, I am doing Kakuro. When I should be cutting the lawn, I am doing Kakuro. When I should be flossing my teeth, I am doing Kakuro. I know that sounds like a good use of my time but it seems the contrary is true. Kakuro is much much better than eating cookies, is much better than gambling or drinking to excess, is much better than chewing my nails or staring at the affects of gravity on my neck.

Kakuro is wonderful and I am oh so grateful. That’s my story and I’m stickin’ to it.

This entry was posted in GRATITUDE. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

